Mentor teachers honored

Kaua‘i mentor teachers were honored at a dinner sponsored by the Hawaii Institute of Education Partners and the University of Hawai‘i at Manoa, and the state Department of Education, at the Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Waipouli Beach last week.

Mentor teachers are classroom teachers who take on the added responsibility of helping students who are learning to be teachers get the practice they need in the classroom.

The mentor teachers honored were Marie Hashimura, Karen Heresa, Karen Joto, Annette Oda, Carmela Pablo and Lisa Tamura from Wilcox Elementary; Kalei Arinaga, Karen Cole, Leimomi Cummings, Chrystine Martin-Powell and Heidi Tokuda from Kapa‘a Elementary; Holly Acoba and Alna Mecham from Kekaha Elementary; Pauline Harada from Hanalei; Sharon Morita from King Kaumuali‘i Elementary; Yvette Blake, Rebecca Hicks and Dina Vento from Chiefess Kamakahelei Middle; Gordon Muramaru, Rene Relacion and Roberta Zarbaugh from Kapa‘a Middle School; Todd Barcial, Elizabeth Goo, Karen Hutchins and Kimberlee Stuart from Kapa‘a High; and Pamela Rozsa from Kaua‘i High schools.

The host and hostesses for the evening were elementary student teachers who expect to begin their teaching careers on Kaua‘i at the beginning of the next school year.

The university graduating students are Haleakala Anakalea, Yvette DeSilva, Michael Ravich, Tristan Shigematsu, Chris Skabo, Dena Souza, Nanea Sproat and Elisabeth White.

The students achieved their University of Hawai‘i teaching degrees through a combination of classroom and distance-learning (online and through interactive TV) instruction at Kaua‘i Community College, and at home.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.