Gonzales gets top surfer award

The final Hawaiian Surfing Federation Kaua‘i contest was a special one for Coral Gonz-ales, who scooped up the Surfco Surfer award for the 2006 campaign.

In the meantime, Courtney Cabral and Michael Sylva took home the 2006 awards for sportsmanship and performance, which were presented by Kuku‘iula Development.

Contest No. 5, which was held at PK’s in Po‘ipu on Saturday, allowed surfers to pick up crucial points, going into the state championships on June 9-11 at Ala Moana Bowls on O‘ahu.

Koa Smith picked up the top ride in the menehune 11-under division, followed by Luke Hitchcock, Kalen Galtes, Christian Graham, Kaimana Wong, and Kaioli Kahokuloa.

In the junior men’s contest (15-17), Ke‘ale Chung took the top spot, with Nathan Rex, Tyler Newton, J.D. Irons, Dylan Melamed, and Bear Bailey rounding out the top six. Gabrielle Cope surprised the girls 17-under field with a win over top contenders like Andrianna Mendivil, Malia Manuel, Erika Steiner, Nage Melamed, and Leila Hurst.

Kyle Galtes scooped up first place in the boys (12-14) division, followed by Luke Hitchcock, Mana Medeiros, Nathan Carvalho, Spencer Kaplanis, and Kaioli Kahokuloa.

In the heated Garden Island Brotherhood 4-A contest, it was Ruben Balmores, who stole the show, earning him the top overall spot in the division.

Milo Murguira, Jeremy Doudt, and Sebastian Zietz filled out the final three spots.

Russell Lewis edged Dwayne Akau for the senior men’s title, followed by Charlie Smith, Craig Balmores, and Kitty Cabral.

Aaron Hacker grabbed the open men’s title, over the likes of Tyler Newton, Chris Foster, and Josh Rex.

Erika Steiner beat out younger older sister Kristen for the girls longboard crown. Codi Barnett, Coral Gonzales, Camille Brady, and Anabelle Marvin rounded out the top six.

In the bodyboard divisions, it was Michael Petro claiming the top spot in the boys contest (12-14) and Kiley Momohara skyed his way to the top of the jr. boarding competition.

Ansen Achuara, Travis Iwata, Kyle Mira, Brian O’Brien, and Etienne Trillo placed in the top six for the juniors.

Joshua Licke, Drake Humiston, Justin Matheny, and Axel Menezes all finished in the top five in the boys division.

Alana Blanchard leads the girls 17-under division, followed by Malia Manuel, Erika Steiner, Kristen Steiner, and Leila Hurst.

Dylan Goodale is the top dog in the boys 12-14 contest, followed by Koa Smith, Luke Hitchcock, Kaikea Elias, and Kaimana Jaquias.

Koa Smith leads the menehune 11-under division, followed by Luke Hitchcock, Mana Medeiros, Kaikea Elias, and Kaoli Kahokuloa.

Nathan Rex holds a slim lead over Tyler Newton, Ke‘ale Chung, Alex Smith, and Dylan Melamed in the junior men’s division.

Rex also leads the open men’s competition, over Tyler Newton, Alex Smith, Kyle Ramey, and Aaron Swanson.

Travis Smith, Etienne Trillo, Nainoa Place, Travis Iwata, and Alan Hoffman round out the top five in the junior bodyboarding division.

Smith is also the leader in the boys bodyboarding contest, followed by Pohaku Kekuualua, Anabelle Marvin, Etienne Trillo, Justin Snyder, and Koa Smith.

Alex Smith, Ruben Balmores, Dylan Melamed, Titus Kanehe, and Jeremy Doudt round out the top five in the G.I.B. 4-A contest.

Erika Steiner leads the girls longboard competition, over Leila Hurst, Malia Manuel, Kristen Steiner, and Alana Blanchard.

Russell Lewis, Charles Smith, Dwayne Akau, Craig Balmores, and Les Tabuchi are the leaders in the senior men’s division and Gabriel Cope, Courtney Cabral, and Shaye Donnelly pace the women’s 18-over contest.

Check out www.hsfkauai.com for more information.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.