Reyes leads RSC Open tourney

LIHU’E — Tony Reyes of San Bruno, Calif., held a 21-pin lead following eight qualifying games entering the Round of 16 Monday.

Randy Iloreta of Kapa’a was the sole Kaua’i bowler to make it to the Round of 16 at the RSC Open bowling tournament.

But when the sun set on the Lihue Bowling Center, Iloreta was eliminated by Jon Brandon of Santa Clarita, Calif., who advanced to the Round of 8 that will open the doors today.

The Round of 8 will feature the eight remaining bowlers bowling the best of three games and will lead up to the Round of 4 and the Round of 2 single game matches. Bowlers will be eliminated leading to the eventual champion of the RSC Open.

Vayle Floria, the defending champion from the 2005 RSC Open, finished Monday with a 1,477 pin count and was eliminated from the Round of 16.

Pin counts and averages reflect the bowlers performance through the eight qualifying games that took place throughout the day Monday leading up to the Round of 16.

Iloreta entered the Round of 16 with a 1,677 pin count (209.62 average) before being eliminated by Brandon, who entered the Round with a 1,715 pin count (214.37 average).

Current tournament leader Tony Reyes entered the Round of 16 with a 1,777 pin count (222.12 average) compared to No. 2 finisher Paul Smith of Canyon Country, Calif., who entered the Round with a 1,756 pin count (219.50 average).

Both Reyes and Smith joined Brandon to advance to the Round of 8.

Chad Pojas of Wahiawa is the only Hawai’i bowler to advance to the Round of 8. Pojas entered the Round of 16 with a 1,672 pin count (209.00 average).

The remaining bowlers include Corey Husted (1,733, 216.62 average) of Clackamas, Calif., Jim Pratt (1,684, 210.50 average) of Glendale, Ariz., Ben Laughlin (1,679, 209.87 average) of Maricopa, Ariz., and Robert Smith (1,666, 208.25 average) of Thousand Oaks, Calif.

The Round of 16 was preceded by a playoff between Chad Horiuchi of Waipahu, O’ahu, and Don Allen III of Vancouver, Wash., who were both tied at 1,648 pin count, 206.00 average.

Allen III broke that deadlock to enter the Round with Horiuchi joining the seven other bowlers in the Top 23 that each received $400 for their efforts.

Darryl Izumo of the hosting Lihue Bowling Center was among the Top 23, finishing at No. 18 on a 1,640 pin count, 205.00 average.

Russ Hunt of Walla Walla, Wash., Brian Cooper of Visalia, Calif., David Leverage of Peoria, Ariz., Joe Barket of Morro Bay, Calif., and Joseph Yockman of Kapolei, O’ahu, were in the Top 23.

Following the Round of 16, Iloreta, Mike Kanda, Rich Corwin, Dave Arnold, Bob Markiewicz, Marv Sargent and Jordan Groenlund were eliminated.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.