United Way raises nearly $570K in last campaign

WAILUA — Nothing but good news emanated from the Kauai United Way’s Annual Meeting and Mahalo Celebration on Tuesday in Waipouli.

Campaign committee cochairs Mike Kano and Tommy Contrades gave the best news by announcing that the non-profit organization raised $569,061 in 2005, which exceeded the year’s goal of $555,555.

“We’re only the people overseeing the funds. It’s all of you out there and thousands of others who really should get the brunt of the credit for breaking the goal,” Kano said.

Master of ceremonies Ron Wiley of KONG radio was in his element once again with the microphone at hand, but what he didn’t know was that he earned the 2006 Kauai United Way “Founders Award.” “I’m speechless. Thank you so much. This means a heck of a lot to me,” Wiley said as ant-sized tears streamed down his face.

The 2005 Founders Award winner Carol Furtado presented Wiley with the plaque, while calling a brief general membership meeting to order.

The Courtyard by Marriot at Waipouli Beach was the site of the event.

Before the light lunch was served, short presentations were presented by officials from A&B Foundation, Kuku’i Development Company (Hawai’i), and Lihu’e Pop Warner.

Executive director Scott Giarman offered words of appreciation for a successful 2005.

“We’re really blessed to live at a place where the people are so generous,” Giarman said.

The 2006-07 Kauai United Way officers include president Furtado, vice president Gerald Ako, and treasurer Diana Simao.

The top 15 employee groups were also congratulated with a framed certificate for their generosity to the Kauai United Way.

The groups include the Kauai Marriot and Resort Beach Club, Kaua’i Island Utility Cooperative, Princeville at Hanalei, Kuku’iula Development Company (Hawai’i), Princeville Resort, First Hawaiian Bank, ITT Federal Services Corp., Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa, King Auto Center, Marriot’s Waiohai Beach Club, Aqua Engineers, Inc., Hawaiian Airlines, Kauai Lagoons Golf Club, and Gay & Robinson, Inc.

Nomination committee cochairs Marlene Matutino and Wiley also announced new board members, which included the likes of Ako, Ted Chihara, Mamo Cummings-Graham, Furtado, Michael Machado, Glenn Nakamoto, Tom Shigemoto, Duane Shimogawa, Simao, Glenn Tamagawa, Mike Wallace, and Peter Yukimura.

Yukimura, who has served the Kauai United Way for many years, was granted a spot as an honorary board member.

Mayor Bryan Baptiste, Contrades, Tony Faye, Holbrook Goodale, Maryanne Kusaka, David Pratt, and Morris Shinsato are the other honorary board members.

For more information on the Kauai United Way, call 2452043 or visit their Web site at www.kauaiunitedway.org.

• Duane Shimogawa Jr., sports editor, may be reached at 245-3681(ext. 257) or kauaisports’&’kauaipubco.com.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.