Five Kaua‘i soccer players named to all-star teams

Chad Thompson of Waimea High School, Micah Ohlen of Kapa‘a High School, Emma Makepa-Foley, Rachael Taira, and Agu Garcia of Kaua‘i High School are the only five Kaua‘i players who were selected to participate in the Hawai‘i Youth Soccer Association (HYSA) Class of 2006 All Star Game played Monday at the Waipio Peninsula Soccer Stadium.

The games are designed to showcase high school senior boys and girls that have been selected by a committee of HYSA coaches from around the state.

The HYSA All Star game was held in conjunction with the HYSA’s Olympic Development Program. HYSA’s objective in creating this All Star Game is to give these seniors in high school a chance to perform in front of collegiate and professional soccer staff; to provide Hawai‘i’s players one last opportunity to compete in front of Hawai‘i’s soccer fans; and to recognize their achievements in the recently completed school season.

Markee Nobriga and Caycie Gusman of Kamehameha, the ILH’s Defensive and Offensive Player of the Year, respectively, led the Girl’s HYSA Blue Team.

Other members include Amber Nakachi, Kaiser; Deysha Victorine, Kamehameha; Janna Adaniya, Mid Pacific; Ambree Ako, Aiea; Larilyn Alota, Roosevelt; Katrina Chong, Hilo; Alyssa Chun, Kamehameha; Laura Franke, Kealakehe; Kehau Hagiwara, Waiakea; Jamie Hirai, Konawaena; Michelle Kam, Aiea; Ashley Kanda, Castle, Lauren Kanda, Castle; Jaecie Kato, Aiea; Tatiana Tibbits, Kapolei; and Diane Uyehara, Kalaheo.

Kailua’s Kealoha “Hea” Kane, the OIA East’s Player of the Year will lead the HYSA Girls White Team.

Also on the White team are Alexis-Ann Crowell, Waianae; Brooke Schreiner, Moanalua; Melissa Abellanida, King Kekaulike; Marcie Kang, Iolani; Lauren Maeshiro, Pearl City; Emmalani Makepa-Foley, Kaua‘i; Elizabeth Carlson, Punahou; Sara Matsumoto, King Kekaulike; Sophie Merrifield, Punahou; Mari Nagamine, Moanalua; Kellie Nakahara, Punahou; Liane Nakamae, Baldwin; Ashley Nied, Punahou; Tanya Nojiri, Moanalua; Aileen Salazar, Radford; Rachael Taira, Kauai; and Jenna Wong, Maryknoll.

Kalaheo’s Stuart Aiu, the OIA East Player of the Year and Matthew Terry of St. Louis, the ILH Defensive Player of the Year, headed up the Boys HYSA Blue Team.

Others are Keola Asman, Kapolei; Mark Atta, Aiea; JD Baba, Moanalua; Eli Bowman, Honokaa; CJ Cintas, Hawai‘i Prep; Kyle Ertel, Punahou; Drew Geis, Kapolei; Aaron Inouye, Waiakea; Fernando Liquido, Punahou; Chris Morales, Roosevelt; Gene Okamura, Waiakea; Trey Petee, Kealakehe; Bryson Tamanaha, Kapolei; Landon Watanabe, Moanalua; Jamie Whitworth, Radford; and Reid Woodward, University High.

Leilehua’s Daniel Phelps, the OIA West’s Player of the Year, will lead the Boys HYSA White Team consisting of Justin Akai, Mid Pacific; Lee Anderson, Iolani; Thanh Bidwell, Kaiser; Matthew Bush, Kaiser; Josh Edelo, Mililani; Stephen Fung, Iolani; Agu Garcia, Kaua‘i; Kenny Gibson, Kailua; Isaiah Guth, Kamehameha; Justin Iha, Mililani; Dylan Langley, Iolani; Micah Ohlen, Kapa‘a; Aaronmichael Osborne, King Kekaulike; Tye Perdido, Seabury; Michael Smith, Mililani; DJ Tanda, Leilehua; and Chad Thompson, Waimea.

The HYSA Class of 2006 All Star Game is a fully sanctioned and sponsored event of the Hawai‘i Youth Soccer Association’s Olympic Development Program.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.