Largusa powers Kaua’i Kane to opening win

KALAHEO — Eastside’s Alex LaMadrid broke a 22-22 stalemate with a bucket in the fourth frame, but Kaua’i Kane’s Joshua Largusa answered with a trey and a bucket to end the frame on a 27-24 note.

That gave Kaua’i Kane the turn-around from a 14-12 halftime deficit and provided the momentum for a 29-26 victory as the county opened its Boys 14 and Under games Monday night at the Kalaheo Neighborhood Center.

Largusa topped Kaua’i Kane’s scoring with 11 points including seven in the second half for the win.

Kalapaki Ellis’s height was a factor for Kaua’i Kane as he finished with eight points, all coming in their second half. Kyson Curammeng added four, and a pair from Shea Shimabukuro rounded out the win.

LaMadrid finished with a game-high 14 points to lead the Eastside effort followed by four points from Tyler Cram. Chasen Guillermo, Keoni Kinzie, and Keane-Shane Agoot each finished with pairs.

Paleku Yasay finished with 16 points to lead Laukona to a 68-40 showing over the Westside Hornets who started the game outnumbered 10-5 and with three players being towered over by the Laukona force. Cody Morden assisted the win on a 12-point note.

Cameron Largusa, Ernest Fernandez and Davone Florence, Jr. each added eight for Laukona.

Keoni Ana paced the Hornets with 16 points despite his small size, finishing the night with three from beyond the arc, and scoring 13 of his points in the sixth period.

Neil Nabeshima finished with 14 points including a pair of three-pointers, and Jake Corona added 13 points including a trey.

Kaleo Cummings and Jordan Tottori combined for 26 points to lead Bloodline to a 47-28 win over Wailua in the finale. Cummings finished with 17 points followed by Tottori adding 9 markers.

Stephan Greenleaf led the Wailua effort with 11 points along with Cody Abigania.

The Boys 14 and under league opened Monday and will play three games on Mondays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays between the Kalaheo Neighborhood Center, the Kilauea Neighborhood Center, and Kaua’i High School.

Fourteen teams make up the league. Teams include Southside coached by Steven Matsumoto, Wailua with Talbert Tacbian coaching, Lihu’e Enforcers coached by Trent Shimabukuro, Lihu’e C-Town coached by Daniel Simao, Lihu’e Bloodline coached by Fred Sasan, Cecil Gee coaching both the Gee Unit A, and Gee Unit B, Hanapepe coached by Francis Kaohi, Laukona with Edwin Yasay coaching, Papalina coached by Clyde Vito, and Eastside coached by Robert LaMadrid.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.