Scott Martin eyes state crown

For the last time, thankfully for the rest of the KIF, Scott Martin will run his final race of his illustrious prep career.

The Waimea senior has dominated the boys cross country scene, with his brother Nathan right behind.

Last year, Scott finished in the top 10 of the state cross country meet, but this season is different. For one, Scott has yet another year of experience under his belt and he’ll be at his home course at KCC on Friday at this year’s state meet. Most importantly though, he’s been able to eclipse the 17 minute mark for the first time, which automatically earns him a spot at the top with the rest of the state. The soft-spoken, light-hearted individual is constantly trying to get better and with his father Rodney as his coach, it’s hard to get away from practicing his craft.

Other boys expected to make a mark at states are the BIIF’s Patrick Stover, the MIL’s Manu Adolpho, the OIA’s David King, and the ILH’s Jeremy Kamaka’ala.

The KIF’s top girls entrant, Chelsea Smith-Wishard of Kaua’i, is the top contender for the state title for the Garden Isle. Like Martin, the junior has been dominant throughout her career.

Other top female runners include the BIIF’s Lucy Pollard, the ILH’s Lauren Ho, the OIA’s Kia Atkins, Lei Aloha Bratton, and Melissa Kawana, and the MIL’s Brittany Young.

Kamehameha won both the boys and girls state titles last season.

Lauren Ho, a senior for HBA, won last year’s individual girls title. HPA’s Emmett Weatherford triumphed in the boys race.

Both the boys and girls will run a three mile course, with the first race beginning at 9 a.m.

The first 20 individuals for the girls and boys will be awarded medals.

Meet director Sean Magoun of Island School has the KCC course ready for battle.

“It’s awesome. It’s looking good. It’s cross country. I mean, what you gotta do? You paint the line and it’s all done. It’s not like football, where we have to paint all the lines,” Magoun said.

Other KIF performers participating at The Honolulu Marathon State Cross Country Championships are Andrianna Mendivil (Kaua’i), Amanda Savage (Kaua’i), Alicia Cowern (Kaua’i), Tara McCoy (Kaua’i), Leanna Carvalho (Kaua’i), Lauren Riley (Kaua’i), Rachel Martin (Waimea), Carolyn Hoeckman—son (Waimea), Gillian Pickett (Kula), Alex Pond (Kapa’a), Erin Pickett (Kapa’a), and Taylor James (Island). Cassady Sirois (Kaua’i), Alyssa Wong (Kapa’a), Sonya Tacub (Waimea), and Ella Arume (Kapa’a) are the alternates.

Nathan Martin (Waimea), Kaimana Girod (Waimea), Adam Kerlin (Kapa’a), Chance Bukoski (Kapa’a), Alex LaMadrid (Kapa’a), Jason Orbe-Smith (Kapa’a), Alex Soza (Kapa’a), Ben Baldwin (Island), Chris Marsh (Island), Brian O’Brien (Island), Alan Hoffman (Island), and Noah Randolph-Flagg (Island) make up the KIF boys squad.

Steven Pascual (Kapa’a), Jonathan Ganir (Kapa’a), Kiley Kobayashi (Waimea) are the alternates.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.