KIUC board candidate forum canceled

A planned forum for candidates for the Kaua’i Island Utility Cooperative board of directors originally set for tomorrow, Thursday, Jan. 30, has been canceled.

Many of the 31 candidates were not able to make it to the forum today, so a decision was made to cancel the forum, said Anne Barnes, KIUC communications coordinator.

There are no plans to reschedule the event.

Ballots and an KIUC board election guide are being mailed from Honolulu tomorrow to all 22,500 KIUC customers named on electric bills. Kaua’i customers should be receiving the information as early as Saturday, and likely by Monday at the latest.

Ratepayers have until 4 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 15 to get their completed ballots to KIUC. Ballots can be mailed in or dropped off at the KIUC building on Kaumuali’i Highway in Lihu’e.

According to the election guide, an “Election Meeting” will begin in the KIUC parking lot at 10 a.m. the same day, six hours prior to the closing of voting.

The ballots are being collected by KIUC and a professional elections firm is being used to validate and tabulate the board election results.

Customers can vote for up to nine candidates, and the top nine vote-getters will become the first elected KIUC board, responsible for voting on decisions ranging from hiring of the KIUC manager to whether or not to petition the state Public Utilities Commission for higher rates.

The board to be chosen during the election has been referred to as a “permanent board,” but actually the longest term any of the successful candidates will gain is three years.

The top three vote-getters will serve three-year terms, with the middle three vote-getters winning two-year seats, and the final three successful candidates will be elected to one-year terms.

The voter guides and ballots will be sent separately from regular monthly electric bills, Barnes said.

By-laws, candidate profiles and other information about KIUC and the board election are online at

KIUC Board Candidates

Nominated Board Incumbents

John Bandmann

Walt Barnes

Fran Brennan

Dennis Esaki

Gregg Gardiner

Rohit Mehta

Committee Nominees

Ron Agor

Walt Barnes

Fran Brennan

Vince Cosner

Robin Danner

Ryan de la Pina

Dennis Esaki

Gregg Gardiner

Scott Giarman

Randall Hee

Mark Hubbard

James Mayfield

Rohit Mehta

Susan Stayton

Saburo Yoshioka

Petition Nominees

John Bandmann

George Birchard

Ben Bohach

Vince Cosner

Brian Davis

Ming Fang

David Hamman

John Hoff

Adam Killerman

Ron Kouchi

Ale Lomosod

Paul Lucas

Abel Medeiros

Nick Morrison

Gerry Murdock

Monroe Richman

Athey Spence


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.