Rodeo tramples South Shore

Another High School and Keiki rodeo took place last Sunday at the CJM Stables in Poipu.

Below are the final results:

High School Barrel Racing — Kristene Sugai won in the time of 37.02, edging Rachel Rincon (38.30) and Lisa Rincon (43.18).

High School Pole Bending — Alana Brun took top honors, finishing with a 47.21. Skye Andrade (55.28) followed and Rachel Rincon (56.88) took third.

Juddson Napier won the High School Steer Wrestling competition in the time of 12.38.

High School Breakaway Roping — Kristen Sugai won the event with a 12.61, Rachel Rincon was second with a 15.31 and Lisa Rincon was third with a 17.54.

High School Calf Roping — Shane Uyetake took first with a 53.34. Randy Brun followed with a 54.18 and Justin Amaral was third with a 55.40.

High School Double Mugging — The team of Daelen DeCosta and Colby Costa won with a convincin 38.59. The team of Austin and Dustin Mendez was second with a 52.84 and Louis Matais and Jessica Morris were third with a 55.95.

High School Pu’u Wai U — Justin Amaral won the event in 28.79, Marcus Laymon was second with a 30.23 and Kurtis Low was third with a 34.51.

High School Dally Team Roping — Justin Amaral and Caleb DeCosta won with an 83.72, Randy Brun and Riley Pedro were second and Rachel and Lisa Rincon were third.

High School Goat Tying — Skye Andrade took first with a 27.60, Alana Brun was second with a 28.58 and Rachel Rincon third with a 31.68.

Keiki Barrel Racing — Damien Decosta won the 12-14 division with an 18.36, edging Kristyn Vasconcellas (18.46) and Sumiko Falque (18.60).

Haley Miranda won the 9-11 division in 18.98. Gavin Shimogawa was second with a 19.61, Jessica Falque was third with a 20.41.

Marcus Shimogawa captured the 5-8 division with a 20.93, edging Hallie Cristobal (23.38) and Alexis Vasconcellas (23.71).

Keiki Pole Bending — Sumiko Falque won the 12-14 division with a 22.64 time. Kody Yamamoto (26.05) was second and Kristyn Vasconcellas (26.42) was third.

Gavin Shimogawa took top honors in the 9-11 division, finishing in 24.74. Acey Soares was second with a 29.11 and Kelli Carviero third with a 32.48.

Kira Blackstad Pimental won the 5-8 division with a 24.93. Marcus Shimogawa followed with a 27.20 and Hallie Cristobal was third with a 31.27.

Keiki Goat Undecorating — Marcus Shimogawa won the 5-8 division with a 6.31. Britni Braun was second with a 9.22 and Hallie Cristobal third with a 10.42.

Gavin Shimogawa won the 9-11 division with a 6.16. Kelli Caviero and Jessica Falque both followed with a 9.04.

Keiki Goat Untying — Jaime Sugai won the 12-14 event with an 18.56, edging Kristyn Vasconcellas, who was second with a 20.38. Julianna Boucher was third with a 25.22.

Keiki Dummy Roping — Marcus Shimogawa won the 5-8 division with a 9.35. Alexis Vasconcellas (13.09) was second and Britni Braun (14.07) third.

Kain Silva won the 9-11 division with an 8.63, just edging Kalani Grace’s 8.87 and Alannah Morris’ 9.77.

Keiki Breakaway Roping — Alannah Morris won in 5 seconds. Kristyn Vasconcellas was second with a 5.83 and Kain Silva was third with a 6.37.

Keiki Dally Team — The team of Damien DeCosta and Randy Brun won with a 10.44. DeCosta then teamed with Louis Matias for second place (11.44).


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.