Kaua’i wins opening meet

LIHUE – Kaua’i freshman Keenan Anaya swept his events in his high school swimming debut to lead the Red Raiders to victory Saturday at the first prep swim meet of the season at Kaua’i High Pool.

Anaya led a number of fast swimmers in the season opener, which included KIF teams Kapa’a, Waimea, Island School (host) and Kaua’i along with visiting Kapolei. A total of 13 pool records were broken on the first Saturday of competition -each of them set previously during a breakout season for Kaua’i swimming in 2002.

Anaya destroyed last year’s 200-yard IM time of 2:24.56 with a 2:14.62 – his time just edged teammate Jarred Perry, who set a pool record of his own in the 100-yard Back with a 1:03.10. Anaya’s 100-yard Butterfly time of 1:00.49 was over four seconds better than the pool record, which was set last year by Waimea’s Kaina Makua. And both Anaya and Perry teamed with Matt Murray and Jason Ebesu to beat the 200-yard Medley Relay record by three seconds, finishing with a 1:50.10.

Other record setters include Kapolei’s Meredith Gloria, who disintigrated Kaua’i times in both the 100 and 200-yard free. Her 200-Free time topped the pool record by an impressive 24 seconds.

Waimea speedster Katelyn Umetsu won all of her individual events and set two records – in the 100-yard Back and 100-yard Fly. Umetsu won the Fly with 1:09.91 and the Back with a 1:11.99. Her 100-Back was nearly three seconds better than the record.

Kapolei’s Sho Fujikawa broke the Boys 500-yard Free record by seven seconds after finishing in the time of 5:21.99, and his teammates Ed Afualo and Jessica Maxwell flew home with pool records – Afualo in the 100-yard Breast and 50-yard Free and Maxwell in the 500-yard Free.

Both the Raider girls and boys varsity teams took top honors at the meet. The Raider boys topped Kapolei 130-127, with Kapa’a finishing third and Waimea fourth. The Raider girls defeated Kapa’a 129-113, with Waimea, Island School and Kapolei finishing in third, fourth and fifth (in that order).

Other event winners included Raider Torrey Ikeda, who won the Girls 200-IM with a 2:49.26. Kaua’i’s Roxanne DuBois was second with a 2:55.17.

Island School’s Bianca Mendoza won the Girls 50-yard Free with a 29.44, edging Kapa’a’s Sarah Haupt.

Waimea’s Bo Domingcil took first place in the 100-yard Free with a 52.93, two seconds better than Kapa’a’s Kelii Akana-Kaaihue.

Kapolei’s Alex Sharp won the 200-yard Free over Kaua’i’s Matt Murray, finishing in the time of 2:11.08.

Kapa’a’s Bristol King won the Girls 100-yard Breast, tapping out Kapolei’s Jasmine Spencer with a 1:22.30.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.