Takatsuki leads contractors

PO’IPU — Roy Takatsuki, of Roy Takatsuki Construction, was installed Wednesday as the 2003 president of the Contractors Association of Kauai (CAK).

And before he was even installed by Judge Gerald Matsunaga, he was invited by Mayor Bryan Baptiste to attend a meeting this week where the direction of the county’s economic-development initiatives will be discussed.

CAK Executive Director Karen Taketa is also invited, Baptiste said.

Takatsuki said immediate past president Jerry Nishek of Kauai Nursery & Landscaping was an “effective” leader, silent but committed, and presented Nishek with a plaque with gavel attached, from the National Association of Home Builders.

Nishek said his term as president was an “educational process,” and that he appreciates member support he received during his year in office.

Baptiste was not joking when he told a crowd of around 50 people at the Sheraton Kauai Resort here that he used to pull weeds for Nishek, in a time not so long ago.

Wayne Fujioka of Shioi Construction is the CAK 2003 first vice president, and Donald Fujimoto of Briant Construction is second vice president.

Diana Simao of American Savings Bank remains secretary, and Dirk Apao of Finance Factors remains treasurer.

Nishek remains a board member as immediate past president.

Directors are Michael Furukawa, Grove Farm Company; Trinette Kaui, A&B (Alexander & Baldwin) Properties, Inc.; Hal Martin, Martin Steel Constructors; Jeff Mira, Honsador Lumber Corp.; Keith Suga, Goodfellow Brothers, Inc.; and Justin Thain, Puuwai Construction.

Annual special awards were handed out by Nishek and Dennis Esaki of Esaki Surveying & Mapping, the emcee for the evening.

Jas W. Glover, Ltd. was named the Kenneth Shioi Contractor of the Year, the award named for the founder of Shioi Construction.

Goodfellow Brothers, Inc. was named the Tetsuro “Rosey” Maeda Member of the Year, for the late president of Kauai Builders, Ltd.

Mike and Ellen Furukawa were given the Robert H. Rask Spirit of the Contractors Association of Kauai Award, named for the owner and operator of R Electric and Rasco Supply Company.

Martin Steel was named the Hideo Tanaka Subcontractor of the Year, named for the late founder of H. Tanaka Plumbing, and Kauai Precast was selected Wayne E. Ellis Associate Member of the Year, named for one of the late founders of Hale Kauai, Ltd.

The CAK maintains an office on Ahukini Road in Lihu’e, near Jack Harter Helicopters.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.