Kamehameha boys and Iolani girls win State Cross Country titles

HONOLULU – The Iolani girls and Kamehameha boys won the 2002 HHSAA State Cross Country Championships Friday at the Central Oahu Regional Park course.

Iolani had a string of high finishers, five of them placing in the top 15 of the girl’s two-mile race. Punahou also had five runners placing in the top 15, but they ended up in second place – their point total of 53 just thirteen points off Iolani’s mark. Kamehameha was third with 101, King Kekaulike placed fourth with 106 and Mililani rounded out the top five with a 186.

Nicole Anderson won the Individual Title, finishing the trek in 12 minutes and two seconds. Kamehameha’s Jessica Domingo finished second in 12 minutes and 31 seconds. McKinley’s Sheena Thain was right behind in third with a 12.31. Lahainaluna’s Caitlin McDonald finished fourth with a 12.40, and Tamarah Binek of Waiakea was fifth with a 12.43.

The Kamehameha boys team had four finishers place in the top 12 spots, which awarded them 54 points and the 2002 title.

Punahou was second with 103 points, Hawaii Preparatory Acadamy was thrid with 107, Iolani was fourth with 114 and Aiea was fifth with 120.

Kamehameha got its greatest boost from J.B. Bolson, who won the three-mile Boy’s Individual title over Iolani’s Patrick Morrissey. Bolson finished in 16 minutes and 36 seconds, just edging Morrissey’s 16.49.

Maui’s Nick Jachowski was third with a 16.53, Kea’au High’s Joshua Enos was fourth with a 16.56 and HPA’s Jared Chapman was fifth with a 16.58.

Kapa’a’s girls team, led by Sharlene Carillo with a 13th place finish in the race, finished seventh overall with 244 points.

Liana Nakazawa (44th place), Jennifer Rodelo (45), Kindra Stofleth (54) and Deidra Spencer (88) also scored for the Warriors.

Also placing high from the Kaua’i Interscholastic Federation was Waimea’s Rachel Martin, a season-long rival to Carillo, who finished 37th in the race. Madison Perry of Kaua’i High was right behind in 38th.

The Kaua’i High School boys team finished 10th out of 17 schools with a total of 298 points at the State Championships. Scott Matsumura (41st place), Ross Brandeburg (46), Chad Naganuma (54), Aaron Fujimoto (78) and Ben Kimura (79) accounted for the Raider scoring.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.