Flyin’ over Wailua at Labor Day races

WAILUA – The results are in for the Annual Labor Day races, which took place Saturday and Sunday at the Wailua Motocross Race Track.

In Saturday’s races, Oahu’s Brittany Correia took first place in the Wahine Class, followed by Kaua’i’s Angela Luczon (2nd) and Marie Berry (3rd).

Maui’s Cody Galbraith won the 50cc Advance.

In the 50cc Beginner class, it was an all Kauaian top three. Jesse Johnson took first, Derrick Gilette placed second and Brian Medeiros was third.

Michael Sylva (Kaua’i) won the 60cc Beginner class, edging Oahu’s Natasha Nagum. Kaua’i’s Alex Berry placed third.

The Garden Island’s Puna Gallardo ran away with the 80cc Advance class. She beat Oahu’s Cody Correla (2nd) and Braden Rapozo (3rd).

Gallardo also won Sunday’s 125 Novice class, topping Oahu’s Mark Morgan and Kauaian Jesse Goo (3rd).

In the 250 Beginner bracket, Oahu’s Alex Andres crossed the finish line first. Aaron Amorin and Kainoa Huddy, both from Kaua’i, took second and third.

Corey Simao edged Judson Ventar, Jr. in the Quads Keiki.

Kevin Alapai won the 80 cc Automatic class.

Brentten Rapozo and Michael Blackstad, both local competitors, took first and second place (in that order) for the 60cc Advance class.

Oahu’s Russell Sharpe topped Tommy Berry (Kaua’i – 2nd) for first place in the 80 Beginner class.

In the 125 class, wrapping up Saturday action, Meleke Leasau took top honors, followed by Ashford Vierra Gonsalves (2nd) and Ivan Ruiz (3rd).

– Results for Sunday:

Kaua’i’s Paul Medeiros won the Quads A class, topping fellow Kauaian Craig Fujimoto (2nd) and the Big Island’s Kelly Chang.

Wendy Leanio took top honors in the Quads A class.

Michael Mindoro, Jr. edged Billy Ruman in the Open class.

In 250 Novice, another all Kauaian top three – Milo Arii (1st), Kela Kawamura (2nd) and Bob Bennett (3rd).

Jason Domann of California won the 125 Amateur, followed by Oahu’s Kainoa Kamakaala and Maui’s Shaun Bacalso.

Domann also won the Masters and the Vets A classes. He beat out Kaua’i’s Jeff Gallardo (2nd) and Jeff Berry (3rd) in the Masters, and topped Oahu’s Kieth Sutherland (2nd) and Kaua’i’s Justin Douglass (3rd) in the Vets A.

In Quads B, Ricky Uemura took first and Patrick Medeiros placed second.

Oahu’s Bronson Hethcote won the 250 Expert division, beating out Kauaians Troy Furugen (2nd) and Isaac Kaluahine (3rd).

Hethcote returned later to claim top honors in the 125 expert division, again edging Kauai’s Furugen. Micah Bridges, also from the island, took third.

Jason Dagenhardt won the Vets B over Oahu’s Mark Morgan and Maui’s Keoni De Rego.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.