Annual Hare and Hound chases through Anahola

ANAHOLA – The Hare and Hound, the longest consecutive off-road event of its kind in the United States, took place Saturday in Anahola.

The skinny: The hare starts the race with sacks full of checks and ribbons marking the trails. The “A Trail” being the most technical and difficult with pink ribbons, the “B Trail” for intermediate riders with blue ribbons, and the “C Trail” a fun rideable trail, marked with orange ribbons for beginners, quads, and bicycles.

The hares hang checks, and later that morning the hounds collect them during the race to verify that they have indeed rode the entire trail. The first A category Hound out of the trail with all of his or her checks wins the event.

The results:

– A Trail

Oahu’s Sam Bird opened up the A Trail event with a win in the 0-125cc class. Cezar Ringor, also of Oahu, won the 136-200cc class.

It was an all Kaua’i top five for the 201-250cc races. Dennis Jacintho took first, followed by David Amorin and Karl Ramirez (3rd). Bruce Javellana took fourth in the event and Mark Stiglmeier placed fifth out of a field of 14.

Also winning was Marvin Oshita in the 251-Open class. Roman Mann took second place.

And in Vets, Billy Carvalho took first place over Clayton Oshita. Warren Miyasato came in third and Eben Manini finished fourth.

– B Trail

Warren”Gator” Shope won the 0-125cc bracket over Taeru Andrade.

Jeremy Douat won the 126-200cc class over Paul Rathbone.

Wayne Taniguchi took top honors in the 201-250cc class. Derek Schonauer took second, Taj Leone third, Jeff Guest fourth and Andy Canavan rounded out the top five finishers.

In Masters, Dennis Furutani took first place. Paul Andrade came in second, followed by Steve Wheeler (3rd), Clayton Carvalho (4th) and Richard Kinnaman (5th).

– C Trail

Dan Urwiler opened the Quads division with a win over second place Kevin Luis.

In the Wahine class, Amanda Higa took top honors, edging Heui Mahi-Higa (2nd), Cindy Clark (3rd) and Violet Ringor (4th).

Tyler Clark came out on top of the Adult class. He beat Peter Clark (2nd), Casey Krahenbuhl (3rd) and Jay Ross DeCosta (4th).

In the Keiki division, Matthew Clark took first place, Colin Murphy took second and Jasmine Waipa finished in third.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.