Twine sizzles as men’s teams grapple for title

KALAHEO—Jeff Sullenbarger fired 18 points to lead Matais to their 67-49 win

over the Big Boys. Charles Ortiz and Duane Shimogawa aided the effort with

12-point contributions in the playoffs for the Kaua`i County Open Men’s

Basketball League Tuesday night at the Kalaheo Neighborhood Center.


Pascua paced the Big Boys with a 15-point outing with Desmond Moniz ending the

night with 13 points.

Chad Gummerus topped the scoring with 32 points for

It Doesn’t Matter, but the effort fell short as Puhi Paint went into the

winners’ circle 79-60 behind double-digit contributions led by Chris Acoba’s 21


Ron Garlie and Matt Taba came in with 14 points each, and Kaleo

Perez ended the night with 11 markers in the Puhi Paint victory.


Albery sizzled the twine for 43 points to lead Snap to a 72-68 win over Kimana

who was led by Maynard Shea with 31 points.

Ray Sarmiento helped the Snap

effort with 15 points while Steve Pringle added 10 points for



Matais scoring: Leonard Barrows 4,

Rich Colipano 9, Bryan Doo 0, Alan Ing 0, Duane Shimogawa 12, Marcus Barnes 2,

Charles Ortiz 12, Glen Batoon 7, Manuel Crain 3, Jeff Sullenbarger 18.


Boys scoring: John Quinones 3, Jay Ahuna 2, Garen Muranoka 2, Oliver Moniz 0,

Juan Padila 0, Lala Sagucio 7, Bryan Taylor 5, Steven Pascua 15, Desmond Moniz

13, Eli Moniz 2.

Puhi Paint 79, It Doesn’t Matter 60

Puhi Paint

scoring: Alec Reichle 2, Guy Higa 2, Chuck Reichle 2, Bryan Inouye 2, Chris

Acoba 21, Ron Garlie 14, Kaleo Smith 9, Matt Taba 14, Robert Ishikawa 0, Alex

Cezar 0, Kaleo Perez 11.

It Doesn’t Matter scoring: Chad Gummerus 32, Chris

Gujikado 2, Shawn Baliaris 3, Aurthur Caberto 2, Kaimi Davis 0, Josh Yorkman 3,

Kelii Bandman 0, Keoni Blake 8, Sean Hiranaka 2, Keoni Adviento 0, Dawson

Bardago 8.

Snap 72, Kimana 68

Snap scoring: Ricky Oyama 8, Ray

Sarmiento 15, Tony Laborte 0, Vinda Carineo 0, Scott Miguel 0, Sean Suero 0,

Doug Morioka 0, Nash Albery 43, Romalo 6, Reid Yoshimoko 0.

Kimana scoring:

Maynard Shea 31, Sean Jardin 8, Leona Hasegawa 2, Antonio Pope 0, Willie Abihai

4, Chad Rita 0, Robin Viquelia 0, Cy Miyashiro 9, Steve Pringle 10, Damon Ines

4, Darrel Ines 0.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.