Brad Lum-Tucker Top Seed in state tennis championships

HONOLULU— Kaua`i High School’s Brad Lum-Tucker is the top seed in the Boys

Singles competition when the Hawai`i High School Athletic Association (HHSAA)

tennis championships get underway Thursday, May 11-13 at the Mauna Lani Bay

Tennis Gardens and Racquet Club.

Kevin Konishi, another Red Raider player,

is seeded sixth.

The Kaua`i High girls doubles team of Kareen Koshishi and

Tiana Lum-Tucker are 10th seed in the tournament.

None of the Kaua`i girls

singles were seeded, and none of the Kaua`i boys doubles teams are


Brad Lum-Tucker and Konishi will draw a bye on Thursday’s opening

round as does Corey Pablo and Vincent Weiss. Girls singles’ Kristi Yasuda of

Kaua`i High, Seychelle deMille of Kapa`a, amd Heather Roberts of Kaua`i also

draw bye on the tournament’s opening day.

The 10th seed girls doubles team

of Kareen Konishi and Tiana Lum-Tucker is idle on opening day.


are scheduled matches for Kaua`i players as well as tournament seeds for the

2000 HHSAA Boys and Girls State Tennis Tournament:

Boys Singles:

Bradlee Lum-Tucker (KAU) (bye), Corey Pablo (WAI)(bye), Vincent Weiss

(KAU)(bye), Raymond Marinas (McK) vs Ed Roessler (KAP), Kevin Konishi (KAU)


Boys doubles: Aiden Colton/Makana Anicas (WAK) vs. Sean

Moura/Kesson Yamamoto (KAI); Jason Kawaguchi/Todd Ozaki (KAI) (bye); Jaffar

Karasuda/Otis Salmo (KAU) vs. Landon Labrador/Jason Wada (KAI); Bruce

Williams/Kyle Yoshida (KAI) (bye)

Girls Singles: Tracie Naganuma (KAU)

(bye), Kristi Yasuda (KAU) (bye), Seychelle de Mille (KAP) (bye), Heather

Roberts (KAU) (bye)

Girls doubles: Hokulani Jorand/Jennifer Kawaguchi

(KAU)/Emily Ai/Fran Joson (PC); Rena Kido/Amy Surratt (KAU)/Cassie

Tatsuno/Kristen Yamane (HIL); Rose Butrac/Heather Media



Boys Doubles Seeded


1. Tyler Black/Cole Millare (Kamehameha)

2. Noah Parker/Chase

Kutara (St. Louis)

3. Kevin Ching/Sean Jobe (Punahou)

4. Ryan

Ishii/Derrick Lajola (Iolani)

5. Jeremy Young/Bret Gamiao (Mililani)


Wade Sugiyama/Michael Young (Iolani)

7. Dane Story/Blake Leong


8. Joel Maeshiro/Jeremy Perron (Mililani)

9. Chris Farm/David

Ballon (Punahou)

10. Sean Arita/Chad Ohira (Punahou)

11. Stephen

Bonnet/Michael Okada (Lahainaluna)

Boys Singles

1. Bradlee

Lum-Tucker (Kauai)

2. Bucky Jencks (Punahou)

3. Michael

Wojnarowicz (Kaiser)

4. Anthony Ilagan (Farrington)

5. Richard

Kahalioumi (Konawaena)

6. Kevin Konishi (Kauai)

7. Max Bakayesu


10. Kareen Konishi/Tiana Lum-Tucker (Kauai)

11. Krystle

Imai/Lauren Matsushita (Baldwin)

Girls Singles Seeded


1. Erin Hoe (Mililani)

2. Tracie Chong (Iolani)


Noelle Lee (Iolani)

4. Jackie Hagen (HPA)

5. Jafra DePontes


6. Loni Matsunaga (Leilehua)

7. Sarah Galon


8. Laurel Turbin (Punahou)

9. Nicole Sakai (Pearl


10. Michelle Pautler (HPA)

11. Katrina Holmberg (King



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.