David Ishii 2000 state golf championships here

HONOLULU – Jasmine Ornellas (KAP), Kassie Wong (KAP), Marisa Yamamoto (KAP),

Virginia Fajardo (KAP), Lehua Wise (KAU), Lauren Yama (KAU), and Stephanie

Shinno (KAU) are the seven Kaua`i representatives participating in the David

Ishii 2000 State (golf) Championships that gets underway at the Princeville

Makai Golf Course starting at 8:52 a.m. Thursday, May 4.

The Kaua`i

Interscholastic Federation (KIF) will have seven berths in the 68-player


The OIA will be fielding 22 golfers with the ILH adding another 16

golfers. The BIIF will have 15 with MIL rounding out the field with 8 golfers

for the tournament that has no admission charge while it takes place on May


United States Golf Association rules will govern play with local

course rules in effect. The girls golf individual championships consist of

36-hole medal play and low individual gross format over the two days of


Team chamionship format will have four players participating with the

three best scores of each day used to calculate the team score.


chamions include Shayna Miyajima of Baldwin High School, Maui who carded

77-75-152, Jamie Yoshimura of Kaiser High School (76-77-153), and Rachel Kyono

of Kaua`i High School (79-76-155). Both Miyajima and Yoshimura return to this

year’s tournament.

BIIF top three golfers will include Kristen Higa (Hilo),

Leah Whiting (Waiakea), and Katie Atebara (Waiakea). ILH’s top three include


Reigh Asao (Hawai`i Baptist), Kelli Otsuka (Mid-Pacific), and

Darene Matsuoka (St. Andrew’s).

MIL representatives are headed by Joan

Shimozaki (Seabury Hall), Miyajima (Baldwin), and Lisa Kajihara (King

Kekaulike), and the OIA will be led by Ayumi Hori (Moanalua), Merynn Ito

(Aiea), and Angela Apelu (Radford).

The full field for the David Ishii 2000

state championships follow:

BIIF Golfers (15)

Kristen Higa (Hilo),

Lauren Tachibana (Hilo), Chaney Mitsutani (Hilo), Kelsey Atebara (Hilo), Keri

Harage (Hilo), Diana Kusunoki (Kealakeha), Julia Au (Parker), Leah Whiting

(Waiakea), Katie Atebara (Waiakea), Melissa Takahashi (WaiakeaTristi Tomono

(Waiakea), Keanu Kikuchi (Waiakea), Danielle Masuda (Waiakea), Jenna Fujimoto

(Waiakea), Kellie Kawahara (Waiakea).

ILH Golfers


Whitney-Reigh Asao (HI Bap), Erin Masuda (HI Bap), Kari Sur

(Iolani), Andria Chatfield (Kamehameha), Amanda Hegerfeldt (Kamehameha), Kyra

Sumida (Kamehameha), Puamana Tacgere (Kamehameha), Lea Young (Maryknoll), Kelli

Otsuka (Mid Pac), Ali Andrade (Punahou), Mari Kotake (Punahou), Jennifer Token

(Punahou),Ala Chung (Punahou), Jennifer Miura (Punahou), Darene Matsuoka (St.

Andrew),Stefanie Oshiro (St. Francis).

KIF Golfers (7)


Ornellas (Kap), Kassie Wong (Kap), Marisa Yamamoto (Kap), Virginia Fajardo

(Kap), Lehua Wise (Kau), Lauren Yama (Kau), Stephanie Shinno


MIL Golfers (8)

Shayna Miyajima (Baldwin), Chelcy Furtado

(King Kekaulike), Lisa Kajihara (King Kekaulike), Rie Ganir (Maui), Leona

Kunitake (Maui), Kristi Ota (Maui), Joan Shimozaki (Seabury Hall), Dale Gammie

(St. Anthony),.

OIA Golfers (22)

Merynn Ito (Aiea), Jamie Ige

(Aiea), Amor Del Rosario (Farrington), Jamie Yoshimura (Kaiser), Annabella

Nakao (Kalani), Andrea Souza (Kalaheo), Janelle Higashi (Leilehua), Sheena Higa

(Mililani), Jayme Balidoy (Mililani), Tanya Marshment (Mililani), Ayumi Hori

(Moanalua), Cheryl Daquip (Moanalua), Sora Yim (Moanalua), Melanie Lee (Pearl

City), Laura Yan (Pearl City), Angela Apelu (Radford), Eleanor Apelu (Radford),

Laura Sinacori (Radford), Tioffany Ishihara-Paraso (Roosevelt), Karli Taniguchi

(Roosevelt), Evelyn Lee (Roosevelt), Christy Holt (Waianae).


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.