Kapa’a is the Nike champ

astsiders beat KFP for18-and-under girls title

KALAHEO — Jordyn Danner’s 17 points and Ihilani Yama’s 15 points paced the

Kapa’a Boys and Girls Club 18-and-under girls to the championship of the Nike

Games Championship Basketball Tournament at the Kalaheo Neighborhood Center

last week.

Waiala Quisano chipped in with 11 points in the 67-50 win over

the Kaua’i Fire Protection A team.

Camy Mizukami topped the Kaua`i Fire

Protection scoring with nine points, followed by Elisa Inouye with eight, and

Cissy Dennis, Erin Garlie and Brandi Kawamura with six points apiece in the


The Kaua’i Fire Protection B team topped Waimea Blue 45-39 for the

third place trophy.

Becky Sakimae was hot for the B team with 14 points,

while Sherlyn Alcon and Lorraine Lagoc paced Waimea Blue with 12 and 10 points,


The Waimea White squad earned the league’s sportsmanship

trophy which was awarded at the special presentation following the championship


League all-stars, voted on by coaches, referees and league officials,

were also named at the presentation. MVP honors were shared by Kapa’a’s Ala

Quisano and the KFP A team’s Elisa Inouye. All-Stars include Sherlyn Alcon,

Stacy Battulayan, Belinda Butac, Jordyn Danner, Erin Garlie, Lorraine Lagoc,

Heather Roberts, Kehau Regidor, Sarah Sakimae, and Ihilani Yama.


Vito, the league’s coordinator, said the program was made possible through a

partnership with Nike and the Boys and Girls Club. Others assisting were Brian

Inouye, Pedro Saligumba, and Les Quisano.

Results and high scorers of last

week’s other youth basketball games in various divisions follow.



Kaumakani SuperSonics 32,

Koloa Kolohes 17

Kahi Rita 9, Aaron

Hesapene 6, Bryson Long 6. Kane Zalopany 6, Kirby Yates 4.

Pua Loke

Wildcats 30,

Island School Voyagers 4

Cody Bonilla 6, Teodore Causan 6,

Chadwin Lopez 6. Tony Newman 2.

Kekaha/Waimea 37,

Westside Hornets


Waalea Arquette 16, Kyle Pigao 7. Luke Tsuchiya 14, David Shea


Kaumakani SuperSonics 47

Kalaheo Pistons 26


Manuel 13, Aaron Hesapene 10. Futi Tavana 7, Braxton Parongao 5, Cory French


Pua Loke Wildcats 36,

Kalaheo Thunderbolts 17

Cody Bonilla

10, Stanley Kinimaka 6. Jordon Nakaya 7, Vaughn Meatoga 4, Seneca Burley


Koloa Kolohes 66,

Island School Voyagers 16

Travis Delima

14, Kyle Kaneshiro 10. Matthew Blake 6.

Koloa Kolohes 63,



Kirby Yates 9, Garrett Sakimae 8. Ryan Harismendy 7.


Pistons 57,

Island School Voyagers 14

Futi Tavana 20, Gavin Lofstedt

14. Nicholas Seymour 4.

SuperSonics 41,



Jeremy Manuel 19, Joshua Cabral 7. Walea Arquette8, Kellen Nakaahiki 5.

Hornets vs.


David Shea 10, Kevin Downing 10, Daniel

Bumagat 8. Chadwin Lopez 9, Stanley Kinimaka 9, Michael Hirahara


Kapa’a King Cobras 49,

Eastside B&G Club 26


Gomez 8, Kaylan Dolor 8, Brandon Ballesteros 8. Malu Umu 10, Michael Lindsey


Lihu’e Raptors 47,

Hanama’ulu/Lihu’e Jazz 28

Kevin Cadiente

17, Kekoa Crowell 8, Lance Okasaki 8. Matthew Palaroan 10, Michael Lindsey


GIRLS 10-12

Lihu’e 20,

Kaumakani SuperSonics 15


Strickland 9, Joana Jacinto 5, Sheila Ramos 4.

Kaua’i Fire Protection


Hanapepe 11

Mei Ling Keopuhiwa 6. Natasha DeFabian


Kekaha/Waimea Swoosh 30,

Kaua’i Fire Protection 8


Moreno 8, Ann Gucwa-Bucasas 8. Mei Ling Keopuhiwa 2, Cherisse Rapozo 2, Rachael

Taira 2.

Anahola Girlz 25,

Hanapepe Refu-G’s 20


Keaweamahi 15. Mallorie Hepa 6, Randi Ortiz 6.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, send us an email.